FESTIVALS: One World Festival Announces Results

The Queen of Silence by Agnieszka Zwiefka The Queen of Silence by Agnieszka Zwiefka

PRAGUE: The juries of the 17th annual One World International Human Rights Documentary Film Festival have granted eight awards. Best Film 2015 went to The Look of Silence by American director Joshua Oppenheimer. The Czech Radio prize for innovative use of music and sound went to German/Polish coproduction The Queen of Silence, coproduced in Poland by Odra Film.

The Avast Foundation Audience Award will be revealed on 11 March during the official closing ceremony.

Full list of Winners:

Best Film

The Look of Silence (USA)
Directed by Joshua Oppenheimer

Best Director

Democrats (Denmark)
Directed by Camilla Nielsson

Special Mention

I Will Not Be Silenced (Australia)
Directed by Judy Rymer

Film that Makes an Exceptional Contribution to the Defensce of Human Rights

Those Who Said No (Sweden)
Directed by Nima Sarvestani

Special Mention

A Quiet Inquisition (USA, Nicaragua)
Directed by Alessadra Zeka and Holen Kahn

Innovative Use of Music and Sound in Documentary Film

The Queen of Silence (Germany, Poland)
Directed by Agnieszka Zwiefka
Produced by by HBO Poland, Chilli Porductions, Ma.ja.de., Odra Film, ARTE/ZDF

Student Jury Award

Warriors from the North (Denmark, Somalia)
Directed by Soren Steen Jespersen and Nasib Farah