FESTIVALS: Ji Yong Kim Wins 26th Camerimage with The Fortress

Written by

BYDGOSZCZ: Ji Yong Kim won the Golden Frog, the top prize of the 26th edition of the festival honouring cinematographers EnergaCAMERIMAGE, for the South Korean film The Fortress directed by Dong-Hyuk Hwang. The festival ended with the awards ceremony on 17 November 2018.

The Silver Frog went to cinematographer Łukasz Żal for his work on Cold War directed by Paweł Pawlikowski. Polish cinematographer Witold Sobocinski received the Lifetime Achievement Award.

The festival market was a showcase for film technology companies to introduce their latest equipment to the international attendees.

The following awards were announced:

Golden Frog: The Fortress (South Korea)
DoP: Ji Yong Kim
Directed by Dong-Hyuk Hwang

Silver Frog: Cold War (Poland, UK, France)
DoP: Łukasz Żal
Directed by Paweł Pawlikowski

Produced by Opus Film
Coproduced by Apocalypso Pictures
Supported by the Polish Film Institute, MK2 Films, Film4, British Film Institute, Eurimages 

Bronze Frog: Roma (Mesico)
DoP: Alfonso Cuarón
Directed by Alfonso Cuarón

FIPRESCI Award: Peterloo (UK)
DoP: Dick Pope
Directed by Mike Leigh

Camerimage Audience Award: The Favourite (Ireland, UK, USA)
DoP: Robbie Ryan
Directed by Yorgos Lanthimos

Best Polish Film: Nina
DoP: Tomasz Naumiuk
Directed by Olga Chajdas, produced by Film It

Best Documentary Feature: When the Bull Cried (Belgium)
DoP: Karen Vázquez Guadarrama
Directed by Bart Goossens, Karen Vázquez Guadarrama

Best Docudrama: I, Dolores (Ireland, UK)
DoP: Kate McCullough
Directed by Maurice Sweeney

Click HERE for the complete list of awards.