Afrika Wins 2018 ScripTeast Award


CANNES: The 12th Krzysztof Kieslowski ScripTeast Award for the Best Script from Eastern Europe went to the script Afrika by Maya Vitkova-Kosev from Bulgaria. The script was developed within the screenwriting programme organised by the Independent Film Foundation. The award was presented at the 71st Cannes Film Festival on 14 May 2018.

The decision was made by the Advisory Board members, Sandy Lieberson, Simon Perry, Manfred Schmidt and ScripTeast’s Heads of Studies Tom Abrams and Christian Routh, who called the script “endlessly surprising, completely unpredictable and utterly enchanting.”

Eleven projects participated in the workshop. A special mention went to The Winter of the Crow by Sandra Buchta and Kasia Adamik of Poland. 

ScripTeast noted that seven of the previous Kieslowski award winners have already been produced (many of them going on to receive prominent festival recognition), and an eighth winner is now in production. In all, 33 films from the programme have been produced with a further 11 currently in production.   

ScripTeast was created by Polish director and producer Dariusz Jablonski, in collaboration with his associates, producers: Violetta Kaminska and Izabela Wojcik.

Click HERE for the press release.