EFA 2018 Nominations for Poland, Georgia, Romania and Bulgaria

Cold War by Paweł Pawlikowski Cold War by Paweł Pawlikowski photo by Łukasz Bąk

SEVILLE: Cold War by Pawel Pawlikowski received five nominations for the European Film Academy 2018 awards, in the categories for European Film, Director, Actor, Actress and Scriptwriter.

Poland also received a nomination in the Animated Film category for Another Day of Life directed by Raul de la Fuente and Damian Nenow.

Two Georgian films received nominations: Scary Mother, a Georgian/Estonian coproduction directed by Ana Urushadze, in the European Discovery category and Prisoner of Society, a Georgian/Latvian coproduction directed by Rati Tsiteladze, in the Short Film category.

The Romanian/German/Bulgarian/French/Czech coproduction Touch Me Not directed by Adina Pintilie was also nominated in the European Discovery category. Bulgaria had a second nomination with Shame directed by Petar Krumov in the Short Film category.

The nominations are:


Border (Sweden, Denmark)
Directed by Ali Abbasi

Cold War / Zimna Wojna (Poland, UK, France)
Directed by Paweł Pawlikowski
Produced by Opus Film
Coproduced by Apocalypso Pictures
Supported by the Polish Film Institute, MK2 Films, Film4, British Film Institute, Eurimages 

Dogman (Italy, France)
Directed by Matteo Garrone

Girl (Belgium, Netherlands)
Directed by Lukas Dhont

Happy as Lazaro (Italy, France, Germany, Switzerland)
Directed by Alice Rohrwacher


C’est la Vie (France)
Directed by Eric Toledano, Olivier Nakache

Diamantino (Portugal, France, Brazil)
Directed by Gabriel Abrantes, Daniel Schmidt

The Death of Stalin (France, UK, Belgium)
Directed by Armando Iannucci


Girl (Belgium, Netherlands)
Directed by Lukas Dhont

One Day (Hungary)
Directed by Zsófia Szilágyi

Scary Mother / Sasishi deda (Georgia, Estonia)
Directed by Ana Urushadze
Produced by Studio Artizm
Coproduced by Allfilm, produced by the Georgian National Film Center

The Guilty (Denmark)
Directed by Gustav Möller

Those Who Are Fine (Switzerland)
Directed by Cyril Schäublin

Touch Me Not / Nu mă atinge-mă (Romania, Germany, Czech Republic, Bulgaria, France)
Directed by Adina Pintilie
Produced by Manekino Film
Coproduced by RohFilm Productions, PINK Agitprop Ltd and Les Films de l'Étranger
Supported by the Romanian Film CentreEURIMAGES, Torino Film Lab, MDM (Mitteldeutsche Medienförderung) Germany, the Bulgarian National Film Center, the Czech Film Fund, Strasbourg Urban Community, MEDIA 


A Woman Captured (Hungary, Germany)
Directed by Bernadett Tuza-Ritter

Bergman – A Year in A Life (Sweden, Germany)
Directed by Jane Magnusson

Of Fathers and Sons (Germany, Syria, Lebanon, Qatar)
Directed by Talal Derki

The Distant Barking of Dogs (Denmark, Finland, Sweden)
Directed by Simon Lereng Wilmont

The Silence of Others (Spain, USA)
Directed by Almudena Carracedo, Robert Bahar


Another Day in the Life (Poland, Spain, Belgium, Germany, Hungary)
Directed by Raul de la Fuente, Damian Nenow
Produced by Platige Image (Poland), Kanaki Films
Coproduced by Puppetworks Animation Studio, Animationsfabrik
Supported by Polish Film Institute

Early Man (UK)
Directed by Nick Park

The Breadwinner (Ireland, Canada, Luxembourg)
Directed by Nora Twomey

White Fang (France, Luxembourg)
Directed by Alexandre Espigares


Aquaparque (Portugal)
Directed by Ana Moreira

Burkina Brandengurg Komplex (Germany)
Directed by Ulu Braun

Graduation (Ukraine)
Directed by Pavlo Ostrikov

I Signed the Petition (UK, Germany, Switzerland)
Directed by Mahdi Fleifel

Kapitalistis (Belgium, France)
Directed by Pablo Muñoz Gómez

Kontener (Germany)
Directed by Sebastian Lang

Meryem (Netherlands)
Directed by Reber Dosky

Prisoner of Society (Georgia, Latvia)
Directed by Rati Tsiteladze

Release the Dogs (France, Belgium)
Directed by Manue Fleytoux

Shame (Bulgaria)
Directed by Petar Krumov

The Escape (France)
Directed by Laëtitia Martinoni

The Years (Italy, France)
Directed by Sara Fgaier

Those Who Desire (Switzerland, Spain)
Directed by Elena López Riera

What’s the Damage (UK)
Directed by Heather Phillipson

Wildebeest (Belgium)
Directed by Nicolas Keppens, Matthias Phlips


Ali Abbasi for Border
Pawel Pawlikowski for Cold War
Matteo Garrone for Dogman
Samuel Moaz for Foxtrot (Israel, Germany, France, Switzerland)
Alice Rohrwacher for Happy as Lazzaro


Marie Baumer for 3 Days in Quiberon (Germany, France, Austria)
Directed by Emily Atef
Eva Melander for Border
Joanna Kulig for Cold War
Alba Rohrwacher for Happy as Lazzaro
Barbara Lennie for Petra (Spain, Denmark, France)
Directed by Jaime Rosales
Halldóra Geirharðsdóttir for Woman at War (Iceland, France, Ukraine)
Directed by Benedikt Erlingsson


Sverrir Gudnason for Borg/McEnroe (Sweden, Denmark, Finland, Czech Republic)
Directed by Janus Metz
Produced by SF Studios production
Coproduced by Film i Väst, Sveriges Television, Nordisk Film, Yellow Film & TV and Sirena Film (Czech Republic)
Tomasz Kot for Cold War
Marcello Fonte for Dogman
Victor Polster for Girl
Jakob Cedergren for The Guilty
Rupert Everett for The Happy Prince (Germany, Belgium, Italy, UK)
Directed by Rupert Everett


Ali Abbasi for Border
Isabella Eklof for Border
John Ajvide Lindqvist for Border
Pawel Pawlikowski for Cold War
Matteo Garrone for Dogman
Ugo Chiti for Dogman
Massimo Gaudioso for Dogman
Alice Rohrwacher for Happy as Lazarro
Gustav Moller for The Guilty
Emil Nygaard Albertsen for The Guilty