FNE Oscar Watch 2020: CEE Films Selected as Oscar Candidates

The Son by Ines Tanovic The Son by Ines Tanovic credit: Dokument Sarajevo

WARSAW: Here is the full list of the CEE countries' candidates for the 92nd Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences award in the best international feature film category. The Academy Awards nominations will be announced on 13 January 2020 and the ceremony will be held on 9 February 2020.

CEE Countries Academy Awards Submissions:

The Son (Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Romania, Montenegro, Slovenia)
Directed by Ines Tanović
Produced by Dokument  
Coproduced by Spiritus Movens, Luna Film, Moono Film, Cut Up
Supported by Film Fund Sarajevo, Eurimages, the Ministry of Culture and Sports Sarajevo, the Croatian Audiovisual Centre, the Romanian Film Centre, the Slovenian Film Centre and the Film Centre of Montenegro

Ága (Bulgaria, Germany, France)
Directed by Milko Lazarov
Produced by Red Carpet
Coproduced by 42Film, Arizona Films Productions, the Bulgarian National Television, ZDF/Arte
Supported by the Bulgarian National Film Center, Mitteldeutsche Medienförderung, Aide aux Cinémas du Monde - Centre national du cinéma et de l’image animée, l’Institut Français

Aga by Milko LazarovCZECH REPUBLIC:
The Painted Bird (Czech Republic, Slovakia, Ukraine)
Directed by Václav Marhoul
Produced by Silver Screen
Coproduced by the Czech Television, Directory Films, PubRes and RTVS.
Supported by the Czech State Cinematography Fund, Creative Europe – MEDIA, the Ministry of Culture of the Czech Republic and the Ukrainian State Film Agency

Mali (Croatia)
Directed by Antonio Nuić
Produced by Propeler film
Supported by the Croatian Audiovisual Centre

Truth and Justice (Estonia)
Directed by Tanel Toom
Produced by Allfilm
Supported by the Estonian Film Institute

Shindisi (Georgia)
Directed by Dito Tsintsadze
Produced by 20 Steps
Coproduced by Free Movie Studio
Supported by the Georgian National Film Center

Those Who Remained (Hungary)
Directed by Barnabás Tóth

The Mover by Dāvis SīmanisLATVIA:
The Mover / Tēvs nakts (Latvia)
Directed by Dāvis Sīmanis
Produced by Mistrus Media
Supported by the National Film Centre of Latvia

Bridges of Time / Laiko tiltai (Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia)
Directed by Kristine Briede, Audrius Stonys
Produced by Studio Nominum
Coproduced by VFS Films, Vesilind
Supported by the Lithuanian Film Centre, the National Film Centre of Latvia, the Estonian Film Institute

Neverending Past / Između dana i noći (Montenegro, Serbia)
Directed by Andro Martinović
Produced by Artikulacija
Coproduced by Zillion Films
Supported by the Film Centre of Montenegro, Film Center Serbia

Honeyland / Medena zemja (North Macedonia)
Directed by Ljubomir Stefanov, Tamara Kotevska
Produced by Trice Films, Apollo Media

Corpus Christi (Poland)
Directed by Jan Komasa
Produced by Aurum Film
Coproduced by Canal+, WFS Walter Film Studio, the Podkarpackie Regional Film Fund, Les Contes Modernes

Honeyland by Tamara Kotevska and Ljubomir StefanovROMANIA:
The Whistlers / La Gomera (Romania, France, Germany)
Directed by Corneliu Porumboiu
Produced by 42 KM FILM
Coproduction by Les Films du Worso, Komplizen Film, Arte Grand Accord
Supported by the Romanian Film Centre, Eurimages, Arte France Cinéma, Film i Väst, Filmgate Films, Studioul de Creație Cinematografică al Ministerului Culturii Romania, in association with MK2 Films, Arte France, WDR

King Petar / Kralj Petar Prvi (Serbia, Greece)
Directed by Petar Ristovski
Produced by Zillion film
Coproduced by Steficon
Supported by Film Center Serbia

Let There Be Light / Nech je svetlo (Slovakia, Czech Republic)
Directed by Marko Škop
History of Love by Sonja ProsencProduced by Artileria
Coproduced by Negativ
Supported by the Slovak Audiovisual Fund, the Czech Film Fund, Slovak Radio and TV, the Czech TV and Eurimages

History of Love / Zgodovina ljubezni (Slovenia, Norway, Italy)
Directed by Sonja Prosenc
Produced by Monoo
Coproduced by Norwegian Incitus Film and Italian Nefertiti film, in association with RTV Slovenija and RAI Cinema
Supported by the Slovenian Film Centre, Eurimages, Fondo per l’audiovisivo del Friuli Venezia Giulia, Friuli Venezia Giulia Film Commission, the Norwegian film Institute, Mediefondet Zefyr, Filmkraft Rogaland