FNE at EFA 2012: Haneke’s Amour sweeps EFA Awards

    Michael Haneke on the set of "Amour" with Emmanuelle Riva and Jean-Louis Trintignant Michael Haneke on the set of "Amour" with Emmanuelle Riva and Jean-Louis Trintignant

    MALTA: Michael Haneke’s Amour swept the EFA awards winning best film, best director and best actor and actress awards leaving other contenders with little to divide between the remaining films.

    Amour which had already taken home to top prize in Cannes earlier this year was the second EFA win for Haneke in three years after winning in 2009 for The While Ribbon. The Austrian director accepted the award saying: “Thank you, I did not expect to be back here again so soon.”

    Central Europeans scored again with Alois Nebel directed by Tomas Lunak and produced by Prague based Negativ Films (www.negativ.cz) a Czech, Slovak, German coproduction which won best animated feature. Romanian director/producer Tudor Giurgiu won best short film for his Superman, Spiderman or Batman.

    The awards were held at Malta’s Seaside Mediterranean Conference, a spectacular venue overlooking the sea and built in 1574 by the Knights of Malta. One of the most moving moments during the event was when veteran Italian director Bernardo Bertolucci came on the stage in a wheelchair to accept the Academy’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

    Full list of prize winners 2012

    Best European Film:
    Amour directed by Michael Haneke
    Germany/ France/ Austrai

    Best Director:
    Michael Haneke for Amour

    Best Actress:
    Emmanuelle Riva in Amour

    Best Actor:
    Jean-Louis Trintignant in Amour

    Best Screenwriter:
    Tobias Lindholm and Thomas Vinterberg for The Hunt

    Carlo Di Palma Best Cinematographer:
    Sean Bobbitt for Shame

    Best Editor:
    Joe Walker for Shame

    Best Production Designer:
    Maria Djurkovic for Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

    Best Composer
    Alberto Iglesias for Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

    European Discovery Prix FIPRESCI:
    Kauwboy by Boudewijn Koole

    Best Documentary:
    Winter Nomads by Manuel von Stürler

    Best Animated Feature Film
    Alois Nebel by by Tomáš Luňák
    Czech Republic / Germany / Slovakia

    Best Short Film
    Superman, Spiderman or Batman by Tudor Giurgiu, Romania

    European Co-Production- Prix EURMIAGES
    Helena Danielsson, Sweden

    European Achievement in World Cinema:
    Dame Helen Mirren

    European Film Academy Lifetime Achievement Award
    Bernardo Bertolucci, Italy

    People’s Choice Award
    Hasta La Vista (Come As You Are) directed by Geoffrey Enthoven