FESTIVALS: Cyprus Animation Fest Announces Competition Films

Koyaa - Naughty Toy Car by Kolja Saksida Koyaa - Naughty Toy Car by Kolja Saksida

NICOSIA: Eleven animated films from Cyprus will screen in the National Competition of the 16th Countryside Animafest Cyprus – Views of the World festival, which will take place in Limassol, Paphos and Nicosia from 24 to 30 June 2017.

The festival has three categories: Ιnternational Competition, Children’s Competition and the National Competition. The international sections include films from across the CEE region, including Bulgaria, Croatia, Estonia, Georgia and Slovenia.

The International Competition section will be judged by NFB Animation Studio producer Jelena Popovic, award-winning animated filmmaker Joni Mannisto and member of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Science Koji Yamamura. The Children’s Competition will be judged by animators Andreas Procopiou and Katerina Pantela, as well as 3D artist and painter Andreas Rossides.

During the festival, which is supported by the Cultural Services of the Ministry of Education and Culture, a number of parallel events, including workshops and masterclasses, will also take place.

The complete list of films in competition follows:

International Short Film Competition:

Estate (France, Belgium)
Directed by Ronny Trocker

La Grande Histoire D’Un Petit Trait (France)
Directed by Antoine Robert

Wednesday With Goddard (UK)
Directed by Nicolas Menard

Empty Space (Estonia)
Directed by Ulo Pikkov

My Father’s Room (Korea)
Directed by Jang Nari

Nighthawk by Spela CadezNighthawk (Slovenia, Croatia)
Directed by Spela Cadez

Blind Vaysha (Canada)
Directed by Theodore Ushev

Ariadne’s Thread (Switzerland)
Directed by Claude Luyet

Nothing Happens (Denmark)
Directed by Michelle and Uri Kranot

Our Wonderful Nature – The Common Chameleon (Germany)
Directed by Tomer Eshed

Antarctica (Belgium)
Directed by Jeroen Ceulebrouck

Shuma (Estonia)
Directed by Lucija Mrzljak

Au Revoir Balthazar (Switzerland)
Directed by Rafael Sommerhalder

Sore Eyes for Infinity (Finland)
Directed by Elli Vuorinen

Garden Party (France)
Directed by Florian Babikian, Vincent Bayoux, Victor Caire, Théophile Dufresne, Gabriel Grapperon and Lucas Navarro

The Day After the Party (UK)
Directed by Diyala Muir

Artists and Hooligans (Russia)
Directed by Ivan Maximov and Anna Romanova

Strange Fish (USA)
Directed by Steven Subotnick

Fortgang / Progress (Switzerland)
Directed by Otto Alder

Scratch (Triptyque-3) (Canada)
Directed by Pierre Hebert

Train to Peace (Germany)
Directed by Jakob Weyde and Jost Althoff

Contact (Spain)
Directed by Alessandro Novelli

Journal Anime (France)
Directed by Donato Sansone

Corner (Estonia)
Directed by Lucija Mrzljak

Eclipse (Russia)
Directed by Anna Shepilova

A Festive Wind (Switzerland, France)
Directed by Marjolaine Perreten

Traveling Country (Bulgaria, Croatia)
Directed by Vessela Dantcheva and Ivan Bogdanov

Pica Pica (Switzerland)
Directed by Mojgan Ghanaatgar

Casino (Canada)
Directed by Steven Woloshen

When the Days Were Endless (Brazil)
Directed by Marcus Vinicius Vasconcelos

Children International Short Film Competition

Jubile (France)
Directed by Coralie Soudet, Charlotte Piogé, Marion Duvert, Marie El Kadiri and Agathe Marmion

Frozen Fun (Germany)
Directed by Verena Fels

Piccolo Concerto (Germany)
Directed by Ceylan Beyoglu

Goats (Russia)
Directed by Ekaterina Filippova

In a Cage (France)
Directed by Loic Bruyere

Aport (Russia)
Directed by Denis Voronin

Two Trams (Russia)
Directed by Svetlana Andrianova

Mole and the Earthworm (Germany)
Directed by Johannes Schiehsl

The Kid and the Hedgehog (Spain)
Directed by Marc Riba and Anna Solanas

The Pocket Man (France, Switzerland, Georgia)
Directed by Ana Chubinidze

Flip-Books (France)
Directed by Marie Paccou

Catherine (Belgium)
Directed by Britt Raes

Koyaa – Naughty Toy Car (Slovenia)
Directed by Kolja Saksida

Poles Apart (UK)
Directed by Paloma Baeza

Bat Time (Germany)
Directed by Elena Walf

The Sled (Russia)
Directed by Olesya Shchukina

Crocodile (Germany)
Directed by Julia Ocker

Spring Jam (New Zealand)
Spring Jam by Ned WenlockDirected by Ned Wenlock

Manolo (Belgium, France)
Directed by Abel Ringot

Hamlet Comedy (Russia)
Directed by Eugeniy Fadeyev

National Competition

Directed by Kat Michaelides

Directed by Michalis Kalopedis

Directed by Amalia Iisa Michael

La Soupe (national and international competitions)
Directed by Νikos Synnos

Without Visitors
Project coordinated by Antigoni Sofokleous
Animators Maria Moutafidou, Maria Xatzoulli, Maria Christodoulou and Eleni Fanari

Directed by Anna Mouyis

Directed by Stefanie Chrysostomou

The Dreamer
Directed by Ilias Neofitou

Small Lives
Directed by Christina Konstantinou (Out of Competition competition)

The Present
Directed by Constantinos Sophocleous

Directed by Maria Mitsi