Miracle Tops 2018 Silver Crane Awards

Miracle by Egle Vertelyte Miracle by Egle Vertelyte

VILNIUS: Eglė Vertelytė‘s feature film Miracle / Stebuklas won four awards, for the Best Feature, Best Director, Best Actress and Best Script, at the 11th Lithuanian Film and TV Silver Crane Awards held on 13 June 2018.

The awards are presented by the Lithuanian Film Academy and the awards ceremony was broadcast by Lithuanian National Television.

The nominees and winners of the Silver Crane Awards were selected by leading cinema professionals, including professor and member of the European Film Academy Gražina Arlickaitė, cinematographer Ramūnas Greičius, film critic Živilė Pipinytė, film theoretician, professor Natalija Arlauskaitė and film director Andrius Blaževičius.

silver cranes 2018During the awards ceremony Lithuanian filmmakers as well as guests Sergei Loznitsa and Krzysztof Zanussi joined a call for release of Ukrainian filmmaker Oleg Sentsov.

The Golden Crane Award for a distinguished filmmaker for lifetime achievement in Lithuanian filmmaking was presented to cinematographer Algimantas Mockus, who shot numerous Lithuanian films and TV series including Žalčio žvilgsnis (1990) directed by Gytis Lukšas, Turtuolis vargšas (1982) directed by Arūnas Žebriūnas, Riešutų duona (1977) directed by Arūnas Žebriūnas, The Devil‘s Bride / Velnio nuotaka (1974) directed by Arūnas Žebriūnas, Virto ąžuolai (1976) directed by Gytis Lukšas and Adomas nori būti žmogumi (1959) directed by Vytautas Žalakevičius.

The complete list of winners follows:

Best Feature Film
Miracle / Stebuklas (Lithuania, Bulgaria)
Directed by Eglė Vertelytė
Produced by In Script
Coproduced by Geopoly
Supported by the Lithuanian Film Centre

Best Short Film
By the Pool / Pirtis (Lithuania)
Directed by Laurynas Bareiša
Produced by Klementina Remeikaitė, „Afterschool“

Best Documentary Film
Wonderful Losers: A Different World / Nuostabieji lūzeriai. Kita planeta (Lithuania, Italia, Belgium, Switzerland, Ireland, Britain, Spain, Latvia)
Directed by Arūnas Matelis
Produced by Studio Nominum
Coproduced by VFS FILMS, Stefilm International, Associate Directors, DOKMobile, Dearcán Media, Planet Korda Pictures and SUICA
Supported by the Lithuanian Film Centre

Best Directing
Directed by Eglė Vertelytė                                                                                                                                    

Best Cinematographer
Mindaugas Survila
The Ancient Woods / Sengirė (Lithuania, Germany, Estonia)
Directed by Mindaugas Survila
Produced by Sengirė
Coproduced by Ma.ja.de Filmproduktions and OU Vesilind
Supported by the Lithuanian Film Centre

Best Composer
Alberto Lucendo
Wonderful Losers: A Different World

Best Actor
Giedrius Savickas
Three Million Euros / Trys milijonai Eurų (Lithuania)
Directed by Tadas Vidmantas
Produced by Vabalo filmai                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 

Best Actress
Eglė Mikulionytė

Best Supporting Actor
Joris Baltrūnas
Breathing into Marble / Kvėpavimas į marmurą (Lithuania, Croatia)
Directed by Giedrė Beinoriūtė
Produced by Just a moment
Co-produced by Aning Film D.O.O.
Supported by the Lithuanian Film Centre

Best Script
Eglė Vertelytė

The Audience Award
Wonderful Losers: A Different World
Directed by Arūnas Matelis

Best Professional Work Award
Saulius Urbanavičius and Jonas Maksvytis
The Ancient Woods

Crane Egg for Best Student Film
The Last Day / Paskutinė diena
Directed by Klaudija Matvejevaitė
Producer: Veronika Cicėnaitė