Gdynia Polish Film Festival Competition Spotlight: Zero

    Zero is the feature film debut of Paweł Borkowski, a creative director in an advertising agency, known in Poland for his satirical drawings in the TV supplement of "Gazeta Wyborcza."

    {mosimage}The film differs from other Polish productions in definitive ways. The director does not trace the story of a single hero; rather, he portrays several inhabitants of a big city in parallel, with their stories intersecting, Robert Altman style. The action takes place within 24 hours. Borkowski presents phobias, fears and disillusionments of modern people.

    The film features several acclaimed Polish actors in leading roles: Robert Więckiewicz, Sonia Bohosiewicz, Marian Dziędziel, Andrzej Mastalerz and Kamilla Baar. The director of photography is Arkadiusz Tomiak.

    Zero was produced by Opus Film from Łódź (www.opusfilm.com). Co-producers are Wytwórnia Filmów Dokumentalnych i Fabularnych (www.wfdif.com.pl/) and Platige Image ( www.platige.com). The budget amounted to PLN 3.8 million, including PLN 1.5 million from the Polish Film Institute ( www.pisf.pl). The shooting took place between April 5 and May 20, 2008, in Łódź and in Warsaw.

    The Polish distributor of Zero is Monolith Films (www.monolith.pl), planning a cinema release on October 23. the film premieres at the Gdynia Festival and will go on to screen in the competition section of Step Forward at the Pusan Festival.

    Production contact:

    OPUS FILM - Sp. z o.o.

    ul. Łąkowa 29
    90-554 Łódź

    tel. 634-55-00, fax 634-55-49
    e-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.,



    Director - Paweł Borowski

    Scriptwriter - Paweł Borowski

    Cinematographer - Arkadiusz Tomiak

    Music - Adam Burzyński

    Editing - Magdalena Mikołajczyk

    Producer - Piotr Dzięcioł

    Production Company - Opus Film

    Co-production - WFDiF, Platige Image

    Cast :

    Robert Więckiewicz
    Bogdan Koca
    Zbigniew Konopka
    Andrzej Mastalerz
    Cezary Kosiński
    Marian Dziędziel
    Agnieszka Podsiadlik
    Maria Maj

    Last modified on 21-07-2012