39th Hungarian Film Week 2008 -- Dec. 7, 2007.

    more information
    Magyar Filmunió
    H-1068 Budapest, Városligeti fasor 38.
    Tel: 351 7760, 351 7761, Fax: 352 6734
    This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., www.filmunio.hu
    Maia Morgenstern presides the 39th Hungarian Film Week.s Jury
    The annual showcase of the newest Magyar production, the 39th Hungarian Film Week will
    be held from January 29 to February 5 2008 in Budapest. Following last years. tradition, an
    international jury will decide about the feature film prizes. Maia Morgenstern will preside the
    jury including FIPRESCI general secretary Klaus Eder, film director Krisztina Goda,
    cinematographer János Kende and composer, theatre director István Márta.
    Press Release of Magyar Filmunió, December 8, 2007.
    www.filmunio.hu . Tel: +36 1 351 77 60
    30 full length feature films produced last year were submitted to the competition and 12 to the
    out of competition program of the upcoming Hungarian Film Week kicking off January 29 in
    the capital, Budapest.
    The 39th Hungarian Film Week, the traditional Hungarian showcase of the year offers a good
    opportunity to have an idea about the Magyar cinematographic trends, to meet filmmakers,
    industry professionals and to discover new talents as well.
    The festival will be held in Mammut multiplex and the Millennium Center in the heart of
    Budapest. As in the previous years, the first two days of the festival will be devoted to the
    documentary production. Altogether 188 non-fictions and 136 shorts have been entered.
    According the high entry numbers and last years novelty, a pre-selection committee will
    decide about the different competition programs. Feature film line-up will include about 16-
    18 titles to compete for the Golden Reel which serves as the main award of the Budapest
    contest. An international jury presided by Maia Morgenstern will decide about the prizes.
    FIPRESCI general secretary Klaus Eder, film director Krisztina Goda, Hungarian
    Cinematographer.s Association president János Kende and composer, theatre director István
    Márta will be members of the Golden Reel Jury.
    Beside the main award, a Best Genre Film prize will be also given at the closing ceremony
    taking place on February 5.
    As usual, the foreign critics will hand over the Gene Moskowitz Award to the feature film
    they consider the best.
    The competition line-up to be announced in early January.

    Last modified on 18-07-2008