Avvantura Honors Global Cinema

    Best European co-production: Tango Libre by Frederic Fonteyne Best European co-production: Tango Libre by Frederic Fonteyne

    ZADAR: Juries at the 4th Avvantura fest Film Forum in Zadar were closely monitoring world art film work 24-30 August at Croatia's up-and-coming fest founded by director Sergej Stanojkovski.

    Screening packed the Forum and audiences turned out in droves for 104 films at the various fest venues. There weren't enough seats for some of the screenings and audiences were standing to see the films of Michael Haneke and Robert Bresson whose work was shown in classic 35mm.

    Crowds also had the chance to catch festival hits and premiers, including numerous Croatian ones in the old city of Zadar. The main competition programme was held in the hall of the Puppet Theatre, where audiences streamed in for Tango Libre and the jury shared their impressions while giving out awards.

    Film fans in the Forum also enjoyed Pieta by Kim Ki duk, The Grandmaster by Wong Kar wai and Mexican crime drama Heli by Amat Escalante, who was awarded for best screenplay at the Cannes IFF.

    Full list of winners:

    Best European co-production: Tango Libre by Frederic Fonteyne (France, Belgium, Luxembourg), supported by EURIMAGES (10 000 euros donated by Focus Fox)

    Best female lead : Nermina Lukac, Eat Sleep Die by Gabriela Pichler (Sweden) and Sharareh Pasha (Mourning by Morteza Farshbaf, EyeOnFilm label)

    Best male lead: Sitthiphon Disamoe, The Rocket by Kim Mordaunt (Australia) and Mateusz Banasiuk, Floating Skyscrapers by Tomasz Wasilewski (Poland, www.alteregopictures.pl)

    Best cinematography : Johan Lundborg, Eat Sleep Die

    Best screenplay: Anahita Ghazvinizadeh and Morteza Farshbaf, Mourning by Morteza Farshbaf (Iran)

    Special mention: Cast of East Sleep Die and Suicide Shop by Patrice Leconte (France, Belgium, Canada), supported by Eurimages

    Best first and second feature: The Cutoff Man by Idan Hubel (Israel), EyeOnFilms label (10,000 kunas/1500 EUR, donation by Euroherc)

    Best film Eye on Films platform: Villegas by Gonzalo Tobal (Argentina, Netherlands, France)

    Best short film: A Story for the Modlins by Sergio Oksman (Spain)

    Tomislav Pinter award for special contribution to film art: Japanese composer Shigeru Umebayashi

    Golden Fish award for creativity and performance in film art : American musician and actor Iggy Pop