Polish Film Institute awards ceremony (Jan. 23)

    Polish Film Institute Award Ceremony at the New Year's Reception for Filmmakers

    Polish Film Institute and the Polish Filmmakers Association have the pleasure to organize New Year's Reception for Filmmakers and PFI's Award Gala which will be held on January 21, 2008 in Multikino Złote Tarasy, Warsaw.

    On January 11, the PFI Award Jury comprising of: Feliks Falk, Krzysztof Gierat, Wiesław Godzic, Andrzej Goleniowski, Barbara Hollender, Juliusz Machulski, Jerzy Płażewski, Jacek Rakowiecki, Wiesław Saniewski and PFI's head director Agnieszka Odorowicz met up at the Institute to select nominees for the Award.

    One should keep in mind that film industry and films are created not only by directors, actors, film music composers and producers. There are numerous individuals involved in the process of film promotion and events such as films festivals, panoramas, exhibitions and meetings with filmmakers. Thousands of professionals, usually virtually unknown to the public, work in the field of film culture promotion and contribute significantly to the development of Polish cinema. To honor all the film enthusiasts, people as well as organizations, dedicated to promotion of Polish productions in Poland and abroad, education of young viewers, publishing studies on film and film culture, Polish Film Institute has created an Award that from now on shall be granted annually.

    This year the Awards will be given for the first time. Nominees were chosen from applications submitted by local governments, film foundations and associations in 11 categories.

    Nominees for the Polish Film Institute Award:

    1. Entities Running Movie Theaters:

    - Agencja Wydarzeń Artystycznych Pro Cinema for the Charlie Cinema in Lodz and Gutek Film Sp. ZOO for Muranów Cinema in Warsaw
    - Capital Park Sp. z o.o. for Neptun Cinema in Gdańsk

    2. International Film Event of the Year

    - 15. International Film Festival of the Art of Cinematography Plus Camerimage
    - 7. International Film Festival Era New Horizons
    - 47. Cracow Film Festival
    - 23. Warsaw International FilmFest

    3. Polish Film Event of the Year

    - Film Debut Festival "Youth and Cinema" Koszalin
    - Summer Film Academy in Zwierzyniec
    - Tarnów Film Award
    - Museum of Cinematography in Lodz, "Krzysztof Kieślowski. Traces and Memory"

    4. Film Promotion Abroad

    - 4. Polish Film Festival in London
    - 19. Polish Film Festival in America (Chicago)

    5. Polish Film Distribution

    - Polish Audiovisual Publishing House
    - ITI Cinema
    - Best Flm Co

    6. Film Reviews

    - "KINO" Magazine
    - "ODRA" Magazine
    - Tygodnik Powszechny

    7. Radio/TV Program

    - "Kocham Kino" - TVP 2
    - "Kino Polska" Chanel
    - " Trójkowo-filmowo" - Polskie Radio PR 3

    8. Web Portal

    - www.stopklatka.pl
    - www.filmpolski.pl
    - www.film.onet.pl

    9. Publication on Film Industry

    - "Historia kina polskiego", ed. T. Lubelski and K. J. Zarębski, published by KINO Foundation
    - Wojciech Marzec Publishing House - a series of textbooks for filmmakers in Polish
    - S. Zawiśliński, "Kieślowski. Życie po życiu", Skorpion Publishing House

    10. Young Audience Education Project

    - Film Academy in Warsaw (DKF Kwant - E. Tobiszewski)
    - All-Poland Competition in Knowledge about Film in Gdańsk (Gdańskie Centrum Kultury)
    - International Young Audience Film Festival Ale kino! in Poznań (Centrum Sztuki Dziecka)

    11. Film Discussion Club

    - DKF "Rotunda" in Cracow
    - DKF Socjologów "Pod Spodem" in Warsaw
    - DKF "Bariera" in Lublin
    - DKF "Żak" in Gdańsk

    Polish Film Institute would like to congratulate the nominees. The winners of the Award shall be announced on Monday January 21, 2008 at 6.30 p.m. at the Award ceremony, which will be held in Multikino Złote Tarasy in Warsaw.

    Official media partners: Telewizja Polska, Film magazine, Radio Trójka, web portal Stopklatka.

    Gala partners: Multikino, Trias, SPI International Polska, TPS Film Studio and Renault - sponsor of the Polish Film Institute.

    Sponsors: Telekomunikcja Polska SA and Bols.

    The New Year's Reception for Filmmakers and the Award Ceremony are organized by the Polish Filmmakers Association and the Polish Film Institute.

    Last modified on 18-07-2008