Karlovy Vary Chooses 14 Competition Films

Written by FNE Staff

European films dominate the Karlovy Vary International Film Festival competition. Of the 14 films selected, 12 are European films or co-productions. The Czech Republic and France are represented by two films each, while the only non-European films come from the U.S. and China.

The six world premieres come from Croatia (Behind the Glass), Belgium/France (Distant Tremors), Germany (Dr, Aleman), Czech Republic (Night Owls), China (The Shaft), and Denmark (Terribly Happy).

Central and Eastern Europe contribute the Czech/Polish co-production Karamazovs, the Russian/Bulgarian co-production Captive, and the Hungarian/Swedish/Irish film The Investigator. Indonesia, co-producing with France, Netherlands, Switzerland, and Sweden, makes a rare competition appearance with The Photograph. The remaining European films come from France (True Enough), Spain (Pretexts), and Italy (The Early Bird Catches the Worm). Completing the competition line up are The Guitar from the USA and The Shaft from China.

The festival opens on July 4 and runs through July 12.

The complete list of competition films follows. For more information on the Karlovy Vary film festival, go to the FNE Festivals section.

Behind the Glass | Iza stakla
Director: Zrinko Ogresta
Croatia, 2008, 80 min, WP

Captive | Plennyj
Director: Alexey Uchitel
Russia, Bulgaria, 2008, 80 min, IP

Distant Tremors | Les tremblements lointains
Director: Manuel Poutte
Belgium, France, 2008, 100 min, WP

Dr. Aleman | Dr. Aleman
Director: Tom Schreiber
Germany, 2008, 106 min, WP

The Early Bird Catches the Worm | Il mattino ha l'oro in bocca
Director: Francesco Patierno
Italy, 2008, 105 min, IP

The Guitar | The Guitar
Director: Amy Redford
USA, 2007, 92 min, IP

The Investigator | A nyomozó
Director: Attila Gigor
Hungary, Sweden, Ireland, 2008, 107 min, IP

The Karamazovs | Karamazovi
Director: Petr Zelenka
Czech Republic, Poland, 2008, 100 min, IP

Night Owls | Děti noci
Director: Michaela Pavlátová
Czech Republic, 2008, 80 min, WP

The Photograph | The Photograph
Director: Nan T. Achnas
Indonesia, France, Netherlands, Switzerland, Sweden, 2007, 94 min, EP

Pretexts | Pretextos
Director: Silvia Munt
Spain, 2007, 90 min, IP

The Shaft | Dixia de Tiankong
Director: Zhang Chi
China, 2008, 98 min, WP

Terribly Happy | Frygtelig Lykkelig
Director: Henrik Ruben Genz
Denmark, 2008, 105 min, WP

True Enough | La vérité ou presque
Director: Sam Karmann
France, 2007, 95 min, IP