European Parliament and European Film Academy Relaunch the LUX Award in Venice

    The new LUX Award, from now on awarded by the European Parliament together with the European Film Academy, was launched on 5 September during the Venice Film Festival in Italy.

    Sabine Verheyen (EPP, DE), Chair of the Parliament’s Culture and Education Committee, unveiled the details of the new award.

    European Parliament President David Maria Sassoli (S&D, IT) address the audience via video message.

    The Award was jointly presented by Mike Downey, Chairman of the European Film Academy, Claude-Eric Poiroux, General Director of the network of cinema theatres for the circulation of European films Europa Cinemas, as well as LUX coordinator Doris Pack and European Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth Mariya Gabriel (remotely).

    Starting this year, the LUX Film Prize, founded in 2007 by the European Parliament and awarded each year to celebrate the excellence of European cinema, will merge with the EFA People’s Choice Award and be awarded jointly with the European Film Academy and in partnership with the European Commission and Europa Cinemas. Accordingly, the name of the film prize will change to “LUX – the European Audience Film Award by the European Parliament and the European Film Academy”.