FESTIVALS: Simshar Wins Cyprus International Film Festival

    Simshar by Rebecca Cremona Simshar by Rebecca Cremona

    NICOSIA: Rebecca Cremona’s Simshar won the Golden Aphrodite Award for Best Film and Best Director at the 10th Cyprus International Film Festival Awards (CYIFF). The festival wrapped in Paphos on 27 September 2015.

    The Golden Aphrodite feature films jury was composed of Hu Xueyang, Vivek Singhania and George Roberson. The members of the short film jury were: Maria Palmer, Natalie A Dalheimer, Chistianna Xenofontos, Kyriakos Kyriakou, Lucie Robson, Michalis Nikolaou, Yiannakis Chatzihannis and Paul Marcel Jones.

    Chinese director Hu Xueyang said: “It is a very high standard festival of independent filmmakers. There were 10 international movies from all over the world in the main competition. I have seen all of them, and I see a sentimental, exquisite, carefully prepared film festival. I am so glad to be here.”


    Golden Aphrodite: Simshar (Malta)
    Directed by Rebecca Cremona
    Produced by Kukumajsa Productions

    Best Director: Rebecca Cremona for Simshar (Malta)

    Best Leading Actor: Panagiotis Vogopoulos for The Lion of Penteli (Greece)
    Directed by Panagiotis Vogopoulos

    Best Leading Actress ex-aequo:

    Danai Androulaki for Anemistiras (Greece)
    Directed by Dimitris Bitos

    and Violeta Markovska for The Woman of My Life (Bulgaria, Macedonia, Romania, Iraq)
    Directed by Antoniy Donchev
    Produced by Ars Ltd.
    Coproduced by KT Film & Media, Peter Film Production, Hawena Films and the Kurdistan Regional Government
    Supported by the Bulgarian National Film Center

    Best Script: Anastasia Kozimpa for Dark Illusion (Greece)
    Directed by Manos Karystinos

    Best Cinematography: Gergely Pohárnok, Jean-Paul de Zaeytijd and Dirk Rijneke for Silent Ones (Netherlands)
    Directed by Ricky Rijneke

    Best Production Design: Su Erdon and Jindaoxinxin for Ili River (China)
    Directed by Wang Jingguang

    Best Art Direction & Costumes: Maria Papadopoulou for Anemistiras (Greece)
    Directed by Dimitris Bitos

    Best Score: Ve Linhua for Ili River (China)
    Directed by Wang Jingguang

    Best Editing: Ricky Rijneke and Nina Petrovna for Silent Ones (Netherlands)
    Directed by Ricky Rijneke

    Nostimon Imar Award: The Winter (UK)
    Directed by Konstantinos Koutsoliotas


    CYIFF 2015 Got Talent

    Best Short Film: Spooky and Linda (Switzerland)
    Directed by Christian Wehrlin

    Best Director in a First Short Film: Spooky and Linda (Switzerland)
    Directed by: Christian Wehrlin

    Best Cinematography in a First Short Film: Shadow Forest (Poland)
    Directed by Andrzej Cichocki

    Honorary Mention for the Story in a first animation short film: Oliloves (Greece)
    Directed by Akis Melachris and Melissaropoulos

    CYIFF 2015 Veteran’s Short Films

    Best Veteran’s Short Film: The Story Teller (UK)
    Directed by Andreas Sheittanis

    Best Director: The Story Teller (UK)

    Best Cinematography: Jeffrey Celis for The Story Teller (UK)