Cold War Dominates Polish Eagles 2019


    WARSAW: Paweł Pawlikowski's Academy Award nominated drama Cold War was awarded in seven categories out of 12 nominations for the Polish Film Awards - The Eagles, including in Best Film, Best Director, Best Actress, Best Cinematography and Best Script. The gala was held in Warsaw on 25 March 2019.

    "Our film won a lot of awards last year, but nothing compares to getting recognised by your own industry. I have been asked recently what was the condition of Polish cinema and I can say that we are in a very good place, where we can compete on an international level so successfully", Ewa Puszczyńska, producer of Cold War, told FNE.

    The Lifetime Achievement Award went to Polish director, screenwriter and film professor Krzysztof Zanussi. The award was presented to him by one of his long-term collaborators, actress Maja Komorowska.

    The nominations for the Polish Eagles were chosen from among over 56 feature films released in the Polish cinemas in 2018, as well as 42 documentaries. 

    The Polish Film Awards - The Eagles have been organised by the Independent Film Foundation since 1999. They are considered to be the Polish equivalent of American Oscars, French Césars and British BAFTA awards. The films are chosen by over 600 members of the Polish Film Academy in a two-step vote.

    The ceremony was broadcast by CANAL+.


    Best Film:
    Cold War / Zimna Wojna (Poland, UK, France)
    Directed by Paweł Pawlikowski
    Produced by Opus Film
    Coproduced by Apocalypso Pictures
    Supported by the Polish Film Institute, MK2 Films, Film4, British Film Institute, Eurimages

    Best Director:
    Paweł Pawlikowski for Cold War

    Best Script:
    Paweł Pawlikowski, Janusz Głowacki for Cold War

    Best Actress:
    Joanna Kulig for Cold War

    Best Actor:
    Jacek Braciak for The Clergy / Kler (Poland)
    Directed by Wojciech Smarzowski
    Produced by Profil Film Jacek Rzehak
    Coproduced by Showmax, Moderator Inwestycje, Atlas Sztuki, Tovares, Studio Metrage, Kino Świat, Krakow Festival Office, Narodowy Instytut Audiowizualny
    Supported by the Polish Film Institute

    Best Supporting Actress:
    Aleksandra Konieczna for A Cat with a Dog / Jak pies z kotem (Poland)
    Directed by Janusz Kondratiuk
    Produced by Akson Studio
    Coproduced by Telewizja Polska, Studio Produkcyjne Orka, Filmoteka Narodowa – Instytut Audiowizualny (FINA)
    Supported by the Polish Film Institute

    Best Supporting Actor:
    Janusz Gajos for The Clergy

    Best Cinematography:
    Łukasz Żal for Cold War

    Best Editing:
    Jarosław Kamiński for Cold War

    Best Costumes:
    Małgorzata Braszka, Ewa Krauze, Małgorzata Gwiazdecka, Izabela Stronias for The Butler / Kamerdyner (Poland)
    Directed by Filip Bajon
    Produced by Filmicon Dom Filmowy
    Supported by the Polish Film Institute

    Best Sound:
    Maciej Pawłowski, Mirosław Makowski for Cold War

    Best Music:
    Mikołaj Trzaska The Clergy

    Best Art Direction:
    Zbigniew Dalecki, Paweł Jarzębski for The Butler

    Discovery of the Year:
    Gabriela Muskała for the script of Fugue / Fuga (Poland, Czech Republic, Sweden)
    Directed by Agnieszka Smoczyńska
    Produced by Mental Disorder 4
    Coproduced by Axman Production, CommonGround Pictures, Odra Film, Mazovia Film Fund, Film I Vast
    Supported by the Polish Film Institute

    Best Drama Series:
    Blinded by the Lights / Ślepnąc od świateł (Poland)
    Directed by Krzysztof Skonieczny
    Produced by HBO Europe
    Broadcast by HBO

    Best Documentary:
    The Prince and the Dybbuk / Książę i dybuk (Poland, Germany)
    Directed by Elwira Niewiera, Piotr Rosołowski
    Produced by Film Art Production, Kundschafter Filmproduktion, Zero One Film
    Supported by the Polish Film Institute, Eurimages, Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg GmbH, the Polish-German Film Fund

    Best European Film:
    Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri (UK, USA)
    Directed by Martin McDonagh