FNE at WFF 2020: Martin Šulík Takes Best Director Prize At 2020 Warsaw International Film Festival

    18 Kilohertz by Farkhat Sharipov 18 Kilohertz by Farkhat Sharipov

    WARSAW: The Grand Prix of the 36th Warsaw International Film Festival went to the Kazakh/Georgian film 18 Kilohertz directed by Farkhat Sharipov. The Best Director prize was awarded to Slovak helmer Martin Šulík for The Man with Hare Ears / Muž se zaječíma ušima. The film also took the Ecumenical Jury award.

    The closing ceremony of the 36th Warsaw Film Festival took place on 17 October 2020 in Warsaw. The International Competition Jury members Liana Ruokyte-Jonsson (Lithuania), Robert Gliński (Poland), and Visar Morina (Kosovo / Germany) gave the Special Jury Award to the film Unidentified / Neidentificat (Romania) directed by Bogdan Farkas & Dragos Dumitru.

    The main prize in the Documentary Competition went to The Jump / Lēciens (Lithuania, Latvia, France, USA) directed by Giedrė Žickytė.

    FIPRESCI jury members Evrim Kaya (Turkey), Andrzej Fogler (Poland) and Catalin Olaru (Romania) gave the award for best debut from Eastern Europe to the film Preparations to Be Together for an Unknown Period of Time (Hungary) directed by Lili Horvát.

    Full list of winners:

    Warsaw Grand Prix, funded by the Capital City of Warsaw
    18 Kilohertz (Kazachstan, Georgia)
    Directed by Farkhat Sharipov
    Produced by 20 Steps
    The Man With Hare Ears by Martin Šulík, photo: WFFCoproduced by Free Movie Studio
    Supported by the Georgian National Film Center

    Best Director
    Martin Šulík for The Man with Hare Ears / Muž se zaječíma ušima (Czechia,Slovakia)
    Produced by IN FILM PRAHA

    Special Jury Award
    Bogdan Farkas & Dragos Dumitru in the film Unidentified / Neidentificat (Romania)
    Directed by Bogdan George Apetri
    Produced by Fantascope


    Competition 1-2 Winner: First Award
    Blindfold / З зав'язаними очима (Ukraine)
    Directed by Taras Dron

    Special Mentions

    Spiral (Hungary, Romania)
    Directed by Cecilia Felméri
    Produced by Inforg M&M Film (Hungary), FocusFox Studio (Hungary), Hai-Hui Entertainment (Romania)
    Supported by the Hungarian Film Fund, Romanian Film Centre, Eurimages

    Mia Misses Her Revenge (Romania)
    Directed by Bogdan Theodor Olteanu
    Produced by Tangaj Production
    Free Spirit Award
    Tragic Jungle / Selva Trágica (Mexico, France, Colombia)
    Directed by Yulene Olaizola

    Free Spirit Special Mention
    True North (Japan, Indonesia)
    Directed by Eiji Han Shimizu,


    Best Documentary Feature Award
    The Jump / Lēciens (Lithuania, Latvia, France, USA)
    Directed by Giedrė Žickytė
    Produced by Moonmakers (Lithuania)

    Documentary Special Mention
    On the Record (USA)
    Directed by Kirby Dick, Amy Ziering  


    Short Grand Prix
    Ligie / Ligeja (Belgium)
    Directed by Aline Magrez

    Best Live Action Short
    Into the Night / Chodźmy w noc (Poland)
    Directed by Kamila Tarabura
    Produced by Munk Studio
    Supported by Polish Film Institute

    Best Animated Short
    The White Whale / Nahang-e Sefid (Iran)
    Directed by Amirhossein (Amir) Mehran

    Best Documentary Short
    What if nothing? / A co jeśli nic? (Poland)
    Directed by Monika Krupa
    Produced by Trzyfilm Paweł Kwiatkowski

    Special Mention Short
    Sulphur / Сера (Russia)
    Directed by Lana Vlady

    FIPRESCI Award
    Preparations to Be Together for an Unknown Period Of Time (Hungary)
    Directed by Lili Horvát
    Produced by Poste Restante
    Supported by the National Film Institute – Hungary

    Young FIPRESCI Jury Award
    Ghosts / Hayaletler (Turkey, France, Qatar)
    Directed by Azra Deniz Okyay

    Ecumenical Jury Award
    The Man with Hare Ears / Muž se zaječíma ušima (Czechia, Slovakia)
    Directed by Martin Šulík

    NETPAC Award
    The Asadas / Asada-ke! (Japan)
    Directed by Ryota Nakano

    NETPAC Special Mention
    Asia (Israel)
    Directed by Ruthy Pribar