PRODUCTION: Nordic War Drama Shoots in Estonia

    Erna at War by Henrik Ruben Genz Erna at War by Henrik Ruben Genz photo: Karl Anders Vaikla

    TALLINN: Henrik Ruben Genz’s war drama Erna at War / Erna läheb sõtta, a coproduction between Denmark, Belgium and Estonia starring Trine Dyrholm, is currently shooting in Estonia. It’s the first time that a film project that big is filmed in Tartu, the second biggest town in Estonia and the European Capital of Culture 2024. The project is benefiting from Estonia’s cash rebate programme.

    “I’m happy about the collaboration, which brings so many international partners to Estonia and puts Tartu on the map of international film industry. I believe that this is the beginning for many new projects”, Estonian producer Esko Rips told FNE.

    Erna at War is set in Jutland, the borderland between Germany and Denmark, in 1918. The film tells the story of a powerful woman Erna (Trine Dyrholm), who puts on the male uniform and joins the army to help her mentally challenged son (Sylvester Byder), who was enrolled in the army. Trying to support her son, Erna finds herself on a gruelling journey through the battlefields of WWI.

    The cast includes Sylvester Byder, Ulrich Thomsen and Anders W. Berthelsen.

    The chief producers are Birgitte Harald and Nynne Selin Eidnes for Nimbus Films (Denmark). The coproducers are Entre Chien & Loup with producer Sébastian Delloye (Belgium) and Nafta Films with producer Esko Rips (Estonia). The project is supported by the Danish Film Institute, the Belgian Film Institute, Film Estonia Cash-Rebate, the Tartu Film Fund and Creative Europe.

    The shooting started at the end of August and will wrap on 25 September 2019. It takes place in Tartu and its surroundings, and also in Belgium and Denmark.

    Production Information:

    Nimbus Film (Denmark)

    Entre Chien & Loup (Belgium)
    Nafta Films (Estonia)

    Director: Henrik Ruben Genz
    Scriptwriters: Henrik Ruben Genz, Bo Hr. Hansen
    DoP: Jørgen Johansson
    Cast: Trine Dyrholm, Sylvester Byder, Ulrich Thomsen, Anders W. Berthelsen