FESTIVALS: Glory Wins the First KineNova IFF

Award Ceremony - Mira Furlan Award Ceremony - Mira Furlan

SKOPJE: Bulgarian duo Kristina Grozeva and Petar Valchanov’s second feature Glory won the first KineNova International Film Festival, that ended on 9 October 2016 after five days of international feature and short film screenings from 15 countries.

KineNova 2016 Award Ceremony

International competition jury consisting of Razvan Radulescu (Romania, head of jury), actors Mira Furlan (Croatia/USA) and Meto Jovanovski (Macedonia), producers Galina Toneva (Bulgaria) and Mario Mazzarotto (Italy) evaluated the nine debut or second feature films in the Official Competition.

Serbian Ognjen Glavonjic won Best Director and Best Screenplay Awards for his debut feature Depth 2.

The jury for the Short Film Programme consisting of film critics Manuela Cernat (Romania) and Dejan Dabic (Serbia) and director Vardan Tozija (Macedonia) voted for Fig from Nikos Kolovos (Sweden) as best short film. Mira Furlan received the Lifetime Achievement Award.


Best Feature Film:
Glory / Slava (Bulgaria, Greece)
Directed by Kristina Grozeva and Petar Valchanov
Produced by Abraxas
Coproduced by Graal Film, Screening Emotions, Aporia Filmworks, Red Carpet
Supported by the Bulgarian National Film Center, Greek Film Centre

Best Director:
Glory by Petar Valchanov and Kristina GrozevaOgnjen Glavonjic for Depth Two / Dubina Dva (Serbia)
Produced by Non Aligned Films and Humanitarian Law Center
Coproduced by Cinéma Defacto

Best Screenplay:
Ognjen Glavonjic for Depth Two / Dubina Dva (Serbia)

Best Short Film:
Fig / Fikon (Sweden, Greece)
Directed by Nicolas Kolovos

Best Animated Short Film:
Round Trip: Mary / Kruznoto patuvanje na Mareto (Macedonia)
Directed by Zarko Ivanov

Special Mention:
The Cemetery Mеn (Iran)
Directed by Ali Mardomi

Special Lifetime Achievement Award:
Mira Furlan