Thirteen Films from CEE in 2017 EFA Selection

    Constitution by Rajko Grlić Constitution by Rajko Grlić

    BERLIN: Thirteen majority and minority coproductions from CEE countries are among the 51 titles in EFA Feature Film Selection, the list of feature fiction films recommended for a nomination for the European Film Awards 2017.

    In the 20 countries with the most EFA Members, these members have voted one national film directly into the selection list. A committee consisting of the EFA Board and invited experts Péter Bognár (Hungary), Dave Calhoun (UK), Giorgio Gosetti (Italy), Christophe Leparc (France), Jacob Neiendam (Denmark) and Alik Shpilyuk (Ukraine) has included further films. 

    The over 3,000 members of the European Film Academy will vote for the nominations in the categories European Film, Director, Actor, Actress and Screenwriter.

    The nominations will be announced at the Seville European Film Festival in Spain on 4 November 2017. A seven-member jury will decide the awards in the categories European Cinematographer, Editor, Production Designer, Costume Designer, Hair & Make-up Artist, Composer and Sound Designer.

    The 30th European Film Awards will take place in Berlin on 9 December 2017.

    The selected CEE films are:

    A Gentle Creature / Krotkaya (France, Germany, Lithuania, Netherlands, Latvia)
    Directed by Sergei Loznitsa
    Produced by Slot Machine
    Coproduced by ARTE France Cinéma, Graniet Film BV, LOOKS Film & TV Produktionen,Solar Media Entertainment, Studio Uljana Kim, Wild at Heart, Film Angels
    Supported by the National Film Center of Latvia, the The Riga Film Fund, the Lithuanian Film Centre

    Afterimage (Poland)
    Directed by Andrzej Wajda
    Produced by Akson Studio in coproduction with the National Audiovisual Institute, TVP, EC1 Łódź - Miasto Kultury, Fundacja Tumult
    Supported by the Polish Film Institute with the logistic support from Lodz Film Commission

    Ana, mon amour (Romania, Germany, France)
    Directed by Călin Peter Netzer
    Produced by Parada Film, coproduced by augenschein Filmproduktion, Sophie Dulac Productions
    Supported by the Romanian Film Centre (cnc.gov.ro), Eurimages, the MEDIA Programme, Film­- und Medienstiftung NRW GmbH, Centre National du Cinéma et de l’image animée

    Frost (Lithuania, France, Poland, Ukraine)
    Directed by Sharunas Bartas
    Produced by Studija Kinema, KinoElektron, InSight Media/Tato Film, Donten & Lacroix Films, KNM production, coproduced by Reborn Production

    Godless (Bulgaria, Denmark, France)
    Directed by Ralitza Petrova
    Produced by Klas Film
    Coproduced by Snow Globe, Alcatraz Films, Film Factory production
    Supported by the Bulgarian National Film Center, Danish Film Institute, Eurimages

    Ice Mother (Czech Republic, Slovakia, France)
    Directed by Bohdan Sláma
    Produced by Negativ
    Coproduced by Artileria, Why Not Productions, Czech Television, Barrandov Studio, RTVS
    Supported by the State Cinematography Fund Czech Republic, Creative Europe-MEDIA Programme and Eurimages

    Requiem for Mrs J / Rekvijem za gospodju J. (Serbia, Bulgaria, Macedonia, Russia, France) Directed by Bojan Vuletić
    Produced by SEE Film Pro, Geopoly Film, Skopje Film Studio
    Supported by Film Center Serbia, the Bulgarian National Film Center, the Macedonian Film Fund and Eurimages

    Son of Sofia / O gios tis Sofias (Greece, France, Bulgaria)
    Directed by Elina Psykou
    Produced by Heretic
    Coproduced by KinoElektron, Chouchkov Brothers
    Supported by Eurimages, the Greek Film Centre, Centre National du Cinéma et de l'Image Animée, the Bulgarian National Film Center, Creative Europe, ERT, Berlinale Residency

    Spoor / Pokot (Poland, Germany, Slovakia, Czech Republic)
    Directed by Agnieszka Holland
    Produced by TOR Film Production, coproduced by Heimatfilm GmbH, Chimney Group, Nutprodukce , nutprodukcia
    Supported by the Polish Film Institute, the Czech State Cinematography Fund, Eurimages, the Slovak Audiovisual Fund, the Swedish Film Institute, MEDIA Programme and Polish-German Co-Development Fund

    The Constitution / Ustav Republike Hrvatske (Croatia, Czech Republic, Macedonia, UK)
    Directed by Rajko Grlić
    Produced by Interfilm
    Coproduced by In-Film, Sever&Sever, the Croatian Radio Television HRT and NP7, Revolution Production and Film and Music Entertainment
    Supported by the Croatian Audiovisual Centre, the Croatian Radio Television, the Czech Film Foundation, Macedonian Film Agency, the Slovenian Film Centre, Eurimages and MEDIA Programme

    The Last Family (Poland)
    Directed by Jan P. Matuszynski
    Produced by Aurum Film
    Coproduced by HBO Polska, Lightcraft, Universal Music Polska
    Supported by the Polish Film Institute

    The Teacher / Učitelka (Slovakia, Czech Republic)
    Directed by Jan Hřebejk
    Produced by PubRes,RTVS
    Coproduced by OffSide Men, Czech Television
    Supported by the Czech State Cinematography Fund, the Slovak Audiovisual Fund

    Western (Germany Bulgaria, Austria)
    Directed by Valeska Grisebach
    Produced by Komplizen Film Production
    Coproduced by Chouchkov Brothers, Coop99, KNM, ZDF-Das Kleine Fernsehspiel, Arte

    Click HERE for the full selection