FESTIVALS: The Nose or the Conspiracy of Mavericks Wins Animafest Zagreb 2021

    FESTIVALS: The Nose or the Conspiracy of Mavericks Wins Animafest Zagreb 2021 credit: Animafest

    ZAGREB: Animafest Zagreb 2021 ended on 13 June 2021, after more than 350 screened films and numerous accompanying events in the six days of the festival, with the award ceremony at the SC Cinema, where the Russian film The Nose or the Conspiracy of Mavericks by Andrei Khrzhanovsky received the Grand Jury Prize in the Long Animated Film Competition.

    Six titles were selected for the Long Animated Film Competition of the 31st World Festival of Animated Film - Animafest Zagreb. Last year's Animafest was one of the very few Croatian festivals that managed to host a live audience in the Cinema SC.

    Initiated by the International Animated Film Association (ASIFA) in 1972, Animafest is the second oldest animation festival in the world, after the Annecy International Animated Film Festival established in 1960. It is also Croatia’s only A list international film festival.

    The 32nd World Festival of Animated Film – Animafest Zagreb will be held from 6 to 11 June 2022.


    Long Animated Film Competition:

    Grand Jury Prize:
    The Nose or the Conspiracy of Mavericks (Russia)
    Directed by Andrei Khrzhanovsky

    Special Mention:
    Kill It and Leave This Town (Poland)
    Directed by Mariusz Wilczyński
    Produced by Bombonierka
    Coproduced by Extreme Emotions, Filmoteka Narodowa - Instytut AudiowizualnyInstytut im. Adama MickiewiczaEC1 Lódz - Miasto KulturyLetkoNolabelDI Factory, Gigant Films
    Supported by the Polish Film Institute

    Grand Competition Short Film:

    Grand Prix:
    Night Bus (Taiwan)
    Directed by Joe Hsieh

    Golden Zagreb Award for Creativity and Innovative Achievement:
    Maalbeek (France)
    Directed by Ismael Joffroy

    Zlatko Grgic Award for Best Film Made Outside an Educational Institution:
    The Fourth Wall (Iran)
    Directed by Mahboobeh Kalee

    Special Mentions:

    Easter Eggs (Belgium, France, the Netherlands)
    Directed by Nicolas Keppens

    Monachopsis (Belgium)
    Directed by Liesbet van Loon

    Hide (Hungary, France, Canada)
    Directed by Daniel Gray

    In My Chest of Fire There Is Still Place to Temple Your Dagger (Spain)
    Directed by Pablo Ballarin

    Orgiastic Hyper-Plastic (Denmark, UK)
    Directed by Paul Bush

    Student Film Competition:

    Dusan Vukotic Award for Best Student Film:
    I’m Here (Poland)
    Directed by Julia Orlik

    Special Mention:
    Ant Hill (Czech Republic)
    Directed by Marek Naprstek

    Croatian Film Competition:

    Can You See Them?
    Directed by Bruno Razum

    VR Animation Competition:

    Otawamure (Japan)
    Directed by Yoriko Mizushiri

    Special Mention:
    Replacement (Japan, Germany, Indonesia)
    Directed by Jonathan Hagard

    Films for Children Competition:

    Main Prize:
    Reflection (Spain)
    Directed by Juan Carlos Mostaza

    Special Mention:
    BusLine35A (Denmark)
    Directed by Elena Felici

    Audience Award for Long Animated Film:
    Wolfwalkers (Ireland, UK, Luxembourg, France)
    Directed by Tomm Moore, Ross Stewart

    Audience Award for Short Film:
    The Stork (Estonia)
    Directed by Lucia Mrzljak, Morten Tsinakov