Noro Držiak Wins Top Prize at Slovak IGRIC Awards for The Impossible Voyage

    Director Noro Držiak and producer Michael Kaboš Director Noro Držiak and producer Michael Kaboš

    BRATISLAVA: Noro Držiak was awarded the main IGRIC prize for directing The Impossible Voyage / Cesta do nemožna at the ceremony of the 31st edition of the annual national film prizes, which took place under hygienic measures in Bratislava on 20 September 2020.

    The IGRIC award for best documentary went to Tomáš Krupa for directing The Good Death / Dobrá smrť. A special award for lifetime achievements was given to the renowned cinematographer Stanislav Szomolányi.

    IGRIC, which is organised by the Slovak Film Union, the Union of Slovak Television Creators and the Slovak Literary Fund, is the oldest film prize in Slovakia and one of the two important national film awards ceremonies in Slovakia, alongside the Sun in a Net Awards.

    A recording of the awards ceremony will be broadcast by RTVS on 26 September.

    The following prizes were awarded:

    IGRIC Award for Best Feature Film in Cinemas:
    Noro Držiak for directing The Impossible Voyage / Cesta do nemožna (Slovakia, Czech Republic)
    Produced by MEDIA FILM, KABOS Film & Media
    Coproduced by RTVSTOBOGANG and Czech Television
    The Impossible Voyage by Noro DržiakSupported by the Czech Film Fund, the Slovak Audiovisual FundMinistry of Culture of the Slovak Republic and Creative Europe - MEDIA

    Special Prize for Creativity:

    Marko Škop for directing Let There Be Light / Nech je svetlo (Slovakia, Czech Republic) 
    Produced by Artileria , Negativ 
    Supported by the Slovak Audiovisual Fund, the Czech Film Fund, the Slovak Radio and TV, the Czech TV and Eurimages

    Juraj Šlauka for directing Punk Never Ends! / Punk je hned! (Slovakia, Czech Republic)
    Produced by Punkchart films
    Coproduced by i/o post, FTF VŠMU, Filmpark production, Admiral Films and kaleidoscope
    Supported by the Slovak Audiovisual Fund and the Czech Film Fund

    IGRIC Award for Television Drama:
    Alena Bodingerová, Peter Nagy and Naďa Jurkemik for the screnplay of the TV series Hniezdo

    Special Prize for Creativity:
    Braňo Mišík for directing Hniezdo

    IGRIC Award for a Film or Television Documentary:
    Tomáš Krupa for directing The Good Death / Dobrá smrť (Slovakia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Austria)
    Produced by HAILSTONE
    Coproduced by MasterFilm, ARTE G.E.I.E., Golden Girls Film, First Hand Films, RTVS,  the Czech Television
    Supported by Slovak Audiovisual FundCzech Film Fund and Ministry of Culture of the Slovak Republic

    Dušan Hudec for directing Bol som blízko neba

    Pavol Pekarčík for directing Silent Days / Hluché dni
    Produced by partizanfilm
    oproduced by RTVSkaleidoscope and Czech školfilm

    IGRIC Award for Animation: not awarded

    Special Prize for Creativity:

    Martin Smatana for Šarkan (Czech Republic, Slovakia Poland)
    Joanna Kožuch for Music Box (Slovakia, Austria)

    IGRIC for Actress in a Feature or Television Film:
    Soňa Norisová for Hniezdo

    Special Prize for Creativity:

    Zuzana Konečná for Let There Be Light / Nech je svetlo

    Júlia Valentová for The Painted Bird / Nabarvené ptáče (Czech Republic, Ukraine, Slovakia)
    Directed by Václav Marhoul
    Produced by Silvescreen 
    Coproduced by the Czech Television, Directory Films, PubRes and RTVS 
    Supported by the Czech Film Fund, the Slovak Audiovisual Fund, Creative Europe – MEDIA, the Ministry of Culture of the Czech Republic, the Slovak Audiovisual Fund and the Ukrainian State Film Agency  

    IGRIC for an Actor in a Feature or Television Film:
    Milan Ondrík for Let There Be Light / Nech je svetlo

    Special Prize for Creativity:

    Richard Autner for Nero a Seneca
    Peter Višňovský for Hniezdo

    Other Film and Television Awards

    Special Prize for Creativity:
    Zuzana Piussi and Vít Janeček for directing The Siege / Obliehanie mesta (Slovakia, Czech Republic)

    Audiovisual Theory and Criticism:
    Yvonne Vavrová for the theoretic work Etika režiséra

    Award of Ján Fajnor for filmmakers younger than 35

    Feature or Television Film:
    Jakub Medvecký and Teodor Kuhn for the screenplay of By a Sharp Knife / Ostrým nožom (Slovakia, Czech Republic)
    Directed by Teodor Kuhn
    Produced by nutprodukcia
    Coproduced by Madness Productions, RTVS and nutprodukce in cooperation with Home Media Production
    Supported by the Slovak Audiovisual Fund, the Slovak Literary Fund and the Czech Film Fund and Ministry of Culture of the Slovak Republic

    Documentary Film: not awarded

    Michaela Mihályi and Dávid Štumpf for the screenplay of Sh_t happens (Slovakia)
    Directed by Michaela Mihályi, David Štumpf

    Special Mention for Producing: Ivan Ostrochovský

    Lifetime Achievement Award: Stanislav Szomolányi