FESTIVALS: The Invisible Life of Eurídice Gusmão Wins ICFF Manaki Brothers 2019


BITOLA: Helene Louvart, the cinematographer of the Brazilian/German drama The Invisible Life of Euridice Gusmao directed by Karim Aïnouz, received the Golden Camera 300 at the 40th edition of the International Cinematographers' Film Festival Manaki Brothers. The festival took place in Bitola, North Macedonia, from 14 to 21 September 2019.

The decision was made by a jury composed of Ed Lachman (USA, president), Kaloyan Bozhilov (Bulgaria), Dominique Welinski (France), Fejmi Daut (North Macedonia) and Nenad Dukic (Serbia).

The Silver Camera 300 went to Jinsong Dong for the work on Yinan Diao`s The Wild Goose Lake.

The French/Greek cinematographer Yorgos Arvanitis and the American cinematographer Ed Lachman were awarded with the Lifetime Achievement Award Golden Camera 300.

A total of 128 films from 50 countries screened in 14 programmes, including 12 titles in the main Competition Camera 300.

The festival closed with a screening of the documentary Manaki – Story in Pictures / Manaki – prikazna vo sliki directed by Robert Jankuloski.

The festival is supported by the North Macedonia Film Agency, the Muncipality of Bitola and Creative Europe MEDIA.


Official Competition:

Golden Camera 300: Helene Louvart for The Invisible Life of Euridice Gusmao (Brazil, Germany)
Directed by Karim Ainouz

Silver Camera 300:  Jinsong Dong for The Wild Goose Lake (China, France)
Directed by Yinan Diao

Bronze Camera 300:  Daniele Cipri for Piranhas (Italy)
Directed by Claudio Giovannesi

Special Mention: Jolanta Dilewska for My Little One / Ayka (Poland, Russia, Germany)
Directed by Sergey Dvortsevoy
Produced by Otter Films
Coproduced by Kinodvor, Pallas Film
Supported by the Polish Film Institute

Short Film Competition:

Small Camera 300: Constanza Sandoval for Monster God (Argentina)
Directed by Agustina San Martín

Special Mention: Guillaume le Grontec for The Van (Albania)
Directed by Erenik Beqiri

Golden Camera 300 Lifetime Achievement Award:
Ed Lachman (USA)
Yorgos Arvanitis (Greece)

Big Star of Macedonian Cinema Award: Ljupcho Konstantinov